The Gothic Novel

01/10/2014 22:46

For this year's NaNoWriMo, I've decided to write a gothic novel, something that I haven't really tried before. In style, I think it will be somwhere between 'Northanger Abbey' and 'Jane Eyre'! The story is set around Christmas 1852 and centres on three young women, Julia, Emmaline and Valentina, as they move from girlhood to womanhood, taking in issues such as sexuality, racism and female emancipation - you know I only deal with the small stuff!

I have a timeline and a chapter outline already and I'm working on the character sheets, which I will post as I complete them. To whet your appetite, here's the chapter outline:


1. Thursday December  16
Travelling to Dunmere, Cornwall

2. Friday December 17
Settling in
Learning about their neighbours

3. Saturday December 18
Exploring Bodmin

4. Sunday December 19
Going to St Petroc's church
Lord Wimberley is absent

5. Monday December 20
Discussions about marriage v independence

6. Tuesday December 21
Julia's philanthropy

7. Wednesday December 22
Trip to Bodmin
Encounter with Lord Wimberley

8. Thursday December 23
Preparing for the ball

9. Friday December 24
The Ball

10. Saturday December 25
Conclusion

 

Keep your eye out for more!